A Bird’s Eye View of the World

At our first meeting to discuss our business plan, we used a notebook with pictures of pigeons on the cover to jot down our initial ideas.  At the time I hadn’t been initiated into the world of beautiful bird jewelry.  After hearing about the trendy styles that could be found in the marketplaces of Asia, I was excited to experience it myself! From that initial meeting, we planned spreadsheets and documents under the name “I Love Pigeons” in honor of that first notebook.  And from that day on I also developed an attraction to all things bird.  From bags to logos to jewelry, I always stopped to look at anything that fit my new “bird’s eye view” of the world. 

A lone pigeon within the walls of the Louvre from my Europe trip in May. As my companion said, I am probably one of the few people to take a picture of this work of art.

From our necklaces featuring bird themes to the dainty birdcages we use as part of our jewelry display, the “I Love Pigeons” theme was prevalent.  Despite this, we hoped to go with a more romantic company name and thus came Oiseau, an ode to the many years I spent immersed in the French language.  Heart Oiseau, a meeting of minds of two girls who wished to share their love of fashion and travelling with the world. 

Our booth at Inglewood Sun Fest

Reflecting on those days just jotting down ideas in a notebook, it is amazing how far we have come with the support of each other, our friends and other accessory lovers out there.  Coincidentally in the middle of writing this post, a fellow fashion lover and blogger contacted me to do a feature of our jewelry.  Style Atelier is an image consultation and personal shopping business based in Calgary.  Although still in the planning stages, they have an amazing blog with regular updates on fashion trends and advice, complete with vivid pictures of styles.  We were honored to have this opportunity!   Please visit our story here and their website here

~ Crystal

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment